Getahun Tefera

Dr Getahun Tefera Senior Lecturer 031 260 1214 teferag@ukzn.ac.za PhD Eng, MSc Eng , BSc Eng Mechanical Engineering Howard College Campus Dr. Tefera completed his first and second degrees at Ethiopian universities. He got his PhD at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. He was a postdoc research fellow in the discipline of mechanical engineering from 2019

Pieter Henning

Dr Pieter Henning Senior Lecturer 031 260 3203 henningp@ukzn.ac.za D.Eng (Mechanical), M.Eng (Mechanical), B.Eng (Mechanical) Mechanical Engineering Howard College Campus Dr Pieter Henning holds a Doctor Ingeneriae in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Johannesburg, and a Magister and Baccalaureus degrees from the Rand Afrikaanse University. He has spent time in academia, power generation industry

Daniel Kirkman

Dr Daniel Kirkman Lecturer 031 260 1063 kirkmand@ukzn.ac.za PhD (Industrial Engineering), BSc (Mechanical Engineering) Mechanical Engineering Howard College Campus Dr. Kirkman completed his BSc degree in Mechanical Engineering at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. He furthered his studies at Stellenbosch University where he earned a PhD degree in Industrial Engineering, before returning to UKZN as a

Nivaar Brijmohan

MR Nivaar Brijmohan Lecturer and Researcher 031 260 2099 Brijmohann@ukzn.ac.za Pr Eng, MSc Eng , BSc Eng Chemical Engineering Howard College Campus Mr Brijmohan is a professionally registered engineer and a lecturer in engineering and project management. He completed his undergraduate and postgraduate studies in Chemical Engineering at UKZN. Mr Brijmohan is an expert in

Ashiel Jumman

Dr Ashiel Jumman Senior Lecturer 033 260 6939 JummanA@ukzn.ac.za PhD Eng(Agric) Bioresources Engineering Pietermaritzburg Campus Dr Jumman’s primary research and lecturing roles are in the field of Irrigation and Soil & Water Conservation Engineering. Prior to joining UKZN in 2023, Dr Jumman acquired 13 years of experience as a Research Engineer at the South African

Ingrid Botha

Ms Ingrid Botha Lecturer 031 260 1211 bothai@ukzn.ac.za MScEng (Mechanical Engineering), BScEng (Mechanical Engineering) Mechanical Engineering Howard College Campus Ms Botha is a lecturer in Mechanical Engineering at the University of KwaZulu-Natal where she obtained a BScEng and MScEng degree. She is currently pursuing her PhD in 4D Printing with her research field encompassing additive

Graham Smith

Prof Graham Smith Associate Professor 031 260 8425 smithg@ukzn.ac.za PhD, MScEng, BScEng Mechanical Engineering Howard College Campus Having recently returned to academia after a period in consulting engineering, Dr Smith has interests in Turbo-machinery, Heat Transfer and Fluid Dynamics. Dr Smith has been the project leader of a number of industrial projects including the National

Mohamed Khan

Dr Mohamed Fayaz Khan Senior Lecturer 031 260 1239 KhanM@ukzn.ac.za PhD, MSc Eng, BSc Eng Electrical Engineering Howard College Campus Dr Khan completed his MSc soon after graduating with his BSc, and then went to work in the Power Industry. During that time (20 years), he completed his PhD in Superconductivity, registered as a Professional

Thando Nqasha

Mr Thando Nqasha NGAP Lecturer NqashaT@ukzn.ac.za MSC (Land Surveying), BSc (Land Surveying) Land Surveying Howard College Campus Mr Nqasha has a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Land Surveying. He is a junior lecture at University of KwaZulu-Natal and a contractor at Maya Geophysics. He has done extensive research in earthquake directional effects on the 2014

Nishani Harinarain

Dr Nishani Harinarain Senior Lecturer 031 260 2687 harinarain@ukzn.ac.za PhD (Construction Management), MSC (Construction Project Management), BSc (Quantity Surveying) Land Surveying Howard College Campus Dr Harinarain is the first to graduate with a PhD in Construction Management at the University of KwaZulu-Natal. She has done extensive work in the area of HIV & AIDS in