School of Engineering

Staff

Dean & Head of School

PROF GLEN BRIGHT

Professor Bright graduated with a BSc (Mechanical Engineering), MSc (Engineering) and PhD (Engineering) degree at the Ex-University of Natal in Mechatronics, Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing Systems.

He is a Professor of Mechatronics, Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing Systems since 2002 and a holder of the James Fulton Chair in Mechanical Engineering. 

He graduated with an MBA degree at UKZN in 2011 and lectures courses  in Mechatronics, Robotics and Advanced Manufacturing Systems. 

PA/Secretary: Ms Nondumiso Cele  |  031 260 3055  |  celen12@ukzn.ac.za

NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Academic Leaders
Akshay Kumar SahaResearch & Higher DegreesSaha@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2725/ 031 260 2305Howard College Campus
David LokhatChemical Engineeringlokhat@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1897Room Number  1A-02, First Floor, Chemical Engineering Building, Howard College  Campus
Jules-Raymond TapamoTeaching & LearningTapamoj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2751Howard College Campus
Mohamed MostafaAgricultural Engineering, Civil Engineering, Land SurveyingMostafaM@Ukzn.ac.za031 260 3709Room 112, Centenary Building, Howard College Campus
Tom WalingoElectrical, Electronic and Computer EngineeringWalingo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1518Howard College Campus
Michael BrooksMechanical Engineeringbrooks@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7667Howard College Campus
Programme Co-ordinators
Anusha SinghChemical EngineeringSinghA36@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3127Howard College Campus
Christina McLeodCivil Engineeringmcleodc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1059Howard College Campus
Jonathan ParkerComputer Engineeringparkerj1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1030Howard College Campus
Jared PadayacheeMechanical Engineeringpadayacheej@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3216Howard College Campus
Mulemwa AkombelwaLand Surveyingakombelwa@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7556Howard College Campus
Rudiren Pillay CarpanenElectrical Engineeringpillayr21@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2713Howard College Campus
Tahmid Quazi Computer EngineeringWalingo@ukzn.ac.za 031 260 2729Howard College Campus
Tilahun WorknehAgricultural EngineeringSeyoum@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6140Pietermaritzburg Campus
Viranjay SrivastavaElectronic EngineeringSrivastava@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2759Howard College Campus
Management Staff
Dudley NaidooManager: Technical Operationsnaidoodc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1126Westville Campus
Ronal ThakurpersadSchool Operations Managerthakurpersada@ukzn.ac.za 031 260 1229Westville Campus
NameDisciplineEmailTelephoneLocation
Agricultural Engineering
Aidan SenzanjeAgricultural EngineeringSenzanjeA@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6064Pietermaritzburg Campus
Alaika KassimAgricultural EngineeringKassimA@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5703Pietermaritzburg Campus
David ClarkAgricultural EngineeringClarkD@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5485Pietermaritzburg Campus
Gareth LagerwallAgricultural EngineeringLagerwall@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5177Pietermaritzburg Campus
Jeff SmithersAgricultural EngineeringSmithers@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5408Pietermaritzburg Campus
Khuthadzo MugodoAgricultural EngineeringMugodoK@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5488Pietermaritzburg Campus
Tilahun WorknehAgricultural EngineeringSeyoum@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6140Pietermaritzburg Campus
Chemical Engineering
Amir MohammadiChemical Engineeringfoxonk@ukzn.ac.za031 250 1490Howard College Campus
Annegret StarkChemical EngineeringStarkA@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3383Howard College Campus
Anusha SinghChemical Engineeringsingha36@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3127Howard College Campus
Bruce SitholeChemical EngineeringSitholeB1@ukzn.ac.za031 242 2325Howard College Campus
David LokhatChemical EngineeringLokhat@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1897Howard College Campus
David RaalChemical EngineeringRaal@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3124Howard College Campus
Elly ObwakaChemical EngineeringObwakaE@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3382Howard College Campus
Germain NtunkaChemical EngineeringNtunka@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3215Howard College Campus
Iain KerrChemical EngineeringKerr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2186Howard College Campus
Indresan GovenderChemical EngineeringGovenderI5@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3727Howard College Campus
Jon PocockChemical EngineeringPocockJ@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3377Howard College Campus
Khalid OsmanChemical EngineeringOsman@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1674Howard College Campus
Kuveneshan MoodleyChemical EngineeringMoodleyK6@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1519Howard College Campus
Malusi MkhizeChemical EngineeringMkhizeN7@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1416Howard College Campus
Michael MullhollandChemical EngineeringMulholland@ukzn.ac.za082 806 7926Howard College Campus
Milan CarskyChemical EngineeringCarskyM@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3544Howard College Campus
Nivaar BrijmohanChemical EngineeringBrijmohanN@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2099Howard College Campus
Ncamisile MasekoChemical EngineeringMasekoN@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3329Howard College Campus
Randhir RawatlalChemical EngineeringRawatlalR@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2156Howard College Campus
Suren MoodleyChemical EngineeringMoodleyS10@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1111Howard College Campus
Wayne NelsonChemical EngineeringNelsonW@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3121Howard College Campus
Civil Engineering
Christina McLeodCivil Engineeringmcleodc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1059Howard College Campus
Cristina TroisCivil Engineeringtroisc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3065Howard College Campus
Derek StretchCivil EngineeringStretchd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1064Howard College Campus
Dillip Kmar DasCivil Engineeringdasd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2092Howard College Campus
Elena FriedrichCivil EngineeringFriedriche@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7709Howard College Campus
Frank Ikechukwu AnekeCivil EngineeringAnekeF@ukzn.ac.za033 260 8425Howard College Campus
Johnnie Ben-EdigbeCivil Engineeringben-edigbe@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2005Howard College Campus
Joy AduCivil Engineeringaduj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7205Howard College Campus
Justin PringleCivil Engineeringpringlej@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1151Howard College Campus
Katelyn JohnsonCivil EngineeringJohnsonk1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7185Howard College Campus
Mohamed MostafaCivil EngineeringMostafaM@UKZN.ac.za031 260 3709Howard College Campus
Moses KiliswaCivil EngineeringKiliswaM@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3061Howard College Campus
Muthukrishna KumarasamyCivil EngineeringKumarasamy@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7571Howard College Campus
Ntlibi MateteCivil Engineeringmatete@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3056Howard College Campus
Oladimeji OlalusiCivil EngineeringOlalusiO@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2130Howard College Campus
Phil EverittCivil Engineeringeveritt@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3058Howard College Campus
Samkelo MpembeCivil EngineeringMpembes1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1820Howard College Campus
Senzo ShangeCivil EngineeringShanges4@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1681Howard College Campus
Electrical, Electronic & Computer Engineering
Akshay Kumar SahaElectrical Engineering saha@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2725/031 260 2305Howard College Campus
Andrew SwansonElectrical Engineeringswanson@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2713Howard College Campus
John AgeeElectrical Engineering ageej@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2718Howard College Campus
Leigh JarvisElectronic EngineeringJarvis@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2742Howard College Campus
Mathew BrownElectrical EngineeringBrownM1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2762Howard College Campus
Remy TiakoElectrical Engineering Tiako@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1244Howard College Campus
Rudiren CarpanenElectrical EngineeringPillayR21@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1217Howard College Campus
 
Farzad GhayoorElectronic Engineering ghayoor@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2247Howard College Campus
Hongjun XuElectronic Engineering xuh@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2107Howard College Campus
Narushan PillayElectronic Engineering pillayn@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2721Howard College Campus
Pradeep KumarElectronic Engineering kumarp@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1240Howard College Campus
Seare RezenomElectronic Engineering rezenoms@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1563Howard College Campus
Thomas AfulloElectronic Engineering Afullo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2732Howard College Campus
Viranjay SrivastavaElectronic Engineering Srivastava@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2759Howard College Campus
 
Abdurazzag AburasComputer Engineeringaburasa@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2720Howard College Campus
Bashan NaidooComputer Engineeringbnaido@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2758Howard College Campus
Ernest BheroComputer Engineeringbhero@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2482Howard College Campus
Jonathan ParkerComputer Engineeringparkerj1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1030Howard College Campus
Jules-Raymond TapamoComputer Engineeringtapamoj@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2571Howard College Campus
Ray Khuboni Computer EngineeringKhuboniR@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7843Howard College Campus
Tahmid QuaziComputer Engineeringquazit@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2729Howard College Campus
Tom WalingoComputer EngineeringWalingo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1518Howard College Campus
Land Surveying
Angus ForbesLand Surveyingforbesam@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1382Howard College Campus
Evaristo MusondaLand Surveyingmusondae@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3290Howard College Campus
Mayshree SinghLand Surveyingsinghm5@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5463Howard College Campus
Mulemwa AkombelwaLand Surveyingakombelwa@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7556Howard College Campus
Mwitwa ChilufyaLand SurveyingChilufyam@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2451Howard College Campus
Nishani HarinarainLand Surveyingharinarain@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2687Howard College Campus
Thando Nqasha Land SurveyingNqashaT@ukzn.ac.za Howard College Campus
Mechanical Engineering
Anthony GovenderMechanical Engineeringgovendera2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1212Howard College Campus
Avern Athol-WebbMechanical Engineeringatholwebba@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1214Howard College Campus
Christian BassonMechanical Engineeringbassonc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1180Howard College Campus
Freddie InambaoMechanical Engineeringinambaof@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8530Howard College Campus
Glen BrightMechanical EngineeringBrightg@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1275Howard College Campus
Glen SneddenMechanical Engineeringsneddeng@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1215Howard College Campus
Graham SmithMechanical Engineeringsmithg@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8425Howard College Campus
James CollinsMechanical EngineeringCollinsJ@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1211Howard College Campus
Jared PadayacheeMechanical Engineeringpadayacheej@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3216Howard College Campus
Jean PitotMechanical Engineeringpitot@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3200Howard College Campus
Lance RobertsMechanical Engineeringroberts@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1213Howard College Campus
Michael BrooksMechanical Engineeringbrooks@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7667Howard College Campus
Riaan StopforthMechanical EngineeringStopforth@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1063Howard College Campus
Richard LoubserMechanical Engineeringrloubser@smri.org031 273 1352Howard College Campus
Sarp AdaliMechanical Engineeringadali@ukzn.ac.za031 2603203Howard College Campus
Timothy VelthuysenMechanical Engineeringvelthuysent@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1213Howard College Campus

NameRoleEmail  TelephoneLocation
Howard College Campus
Bennedin MokoenaAdministrator: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringMokoenab@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2744Howard College Campus
Basetsane MogashoaAdministrator: EPPEI CENTREmogashoab@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8022Westville Campus

Dumisile Mbona

Administrator: Electronic, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Teaching & Learning)Ngcobod@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2753

Howard College Campus

Faith ZuluAdministrator: Land SurveyingZuluf2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2687Howard College Campus
Hlobisile MashabaneAdministrator: Chemical EngineeringMashabaneH@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3119Howard College Campus
Kogie NaickerAdministrator: Mechanical Engineeringnaickerk13@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3201Howard College Campus
Nokukhanya NgcoboAdministrator: Chemical EngineeringNgcobon8@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3119Howard College Campus
Nombuso DlaminiAdministrator: Higher Degrees & Researchdlaminin7@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2070Howard College Campus
Nondumiso CeleAdministrator: PA to the Dean & HoScelen12@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2070Room 03, Ground floor, Unite Building, Howard College  Campus
Nashlene BedaseeAdministrator: Mechanical Engineeringbedaseen@ukzn.ac.za 031 260 7184Howard College Campus
Ooma ChettyAdministrator: Civil Engineeringchettyo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3058Howard College Campus
Thobeka MbunjanaPrincipal Admin Officermbunjanat@ukzn.ac.za031 260  4106Room 35,  Unite Building, Howard College Campus
Winile ShoziAdministrator: Civil EngineeringShoziwin@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1070Howard College Campus
Wendy JanssensAdministrator: FinanceJanssensw@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1152Howard College Campus
Venishree PillayAdministrator: Chemical Engineeringpillayve@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3349Howard College Campus
Victor  PillayAdministrator: Teaching & LearningPillayvs@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2221Howard College Campus
Pietermaritzburg Campus
Natasha MoneyvaluAdministrator: Agricultural EngineeringMoneyvalu@ukzn.ac.za Pietermaritzburg Campus
NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Howard College campus
Andrew StengelSenior Technician: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringAsteng@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2723Howard College Campus
Arnold NaickerTechnical: Electronic, Electrical and Computer Engineeringnaickera4@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2735Howard College Campus
Boysie DumisaTechnical: Civil Engineeringdumisabo@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1071Howard College Campus
Danesh SinghTechnical: Mechanical Engineeringsinghd3@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1221Howard College Campus
Dudley NaidooManager: Technical Operationsnaidoodc@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1126Howard College Campus
Dhanasagren PadayacheeTechnical: Chemical EngineeringPadayacheedh@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1125Howard College Campus
Dharma MoodleyPrincipal Technician: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringMoodleyd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2735Howard College Campus
Divesh MaharajTechnical: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringMaharajd@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2735Howard College Campus
Sipho MaphumuloTechnical: Electronic, Electrical and Computer Engineeringmaphumulob1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2735Howard College Campus
Elliot MlamboTechnical: Chemical Engineeringmlamboe@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1125Howard College Campus
Fathima AliTechnical: Civil EngineeringAlif1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3362Howard College Campus
Freedom MazibukoTechnical: Mechanical EngineeringMazibukon@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1598Howard College Campus
Gerald Addieah Technician: Chemical EngineeringMazibukoN9@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1125Howard College Campus
Greg LoubserSenior Technician: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringGloubs@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2723Howard College Campus
Ishaan RamlakhanTechnical: Civil Engineeringramlakhan1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7745Howard College Campus
Linda Banda Technical: Civil Engineeringbandal@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1071Howard College Campus
Lingispirin PillayTechnical: Civil EngineeringPillayl1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8326Howard College Campus
Logan GovenderPrincipal Technician: Civil EngineeringGovenderl17@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1073Howard College Campus
Ncengizwe Conrad HlambisaTechnical (ICT): Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringHlambisan@ukzn.ac.za031 260 2750Howard College Campus
Patrick MlamboTechnical: Chemical Engineeringmlambom@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1125Howard College Campus
Preyothen NayagerTechnical (ICT): Chemical Engineeringnayager1@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1537Howard College Campus
Sanjay Deeraj Technical: Chemical Engineeringsdeera@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1642Howard College Campus
Sanil MahabeerTechnical: Chemical Engineeringmahabeers2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1598Howard College Campus
Sjah OliverTechnical (ICT): Civil Engineeringoliver@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1025Howard College Campus
Strini GovenderPrincipal Technician: Mechanical Engineeringgovenderst@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1232Howard College Campus
Suren SunpersadhTechnical: Mechanical Engineeringsunpersadhh@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7167Howard College Campus
Thobekile MofokengTechnical: Chemical EngineeringMofokengt@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3384Howard College Campus
Thokozani MpisiTechnical: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringMpisJ@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1258Howard College Campus
Thula NzuzaTechnical: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringNzuzat@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1268Howard College Campus
Urajh RoopnunduTechnical: Electronic, Electrical and Computer EngineeringRoopnundu@ukzn.ac.za031 260 7306Howard College Campus
Vincent MakanyaTechnical: Land Surveyingmakanyav@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1166Howard College Campus
Xolie Nomthandazo HadebeTechnical: Chemical EngineeringHadeben2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1054Howard College Campus
Yushan ReddyTechnical: Mechanical Engineeringreddyy@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1221Howard College Campus
Pietermartizburg campus
Mervyn HansenTechnical Tutor: Agricultural EngineeringHansenm@ukzn.ac.za033 260 5819Pietermaritzbug Campus
Thabo HlatshwayoTechnician: Agricultural EngineeringHlatshwayot@ukzn.ac.za033 260 6816Pietermaritzbug Campus
Westville Campus
Brij ChanderTechnical: Mechanical Engineeringchanderm2@ukzn.ac.za031 260 1221HVDC, Westville Campus
Pravesh MoodleyTechnical: Mechanical Engineeringmoodleypr@ukzn.ac.za031 260 8141VRTC, Westville Campus
NameRoleEmailTelephoneLocation
Howard College campus
Deresh RamjugernathChemical EngineeringRamjuger@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3128Howard College Campus
Prathieka NaidooChemical EngineeringNaidooP18@ukzn.ac.za031 260 3177Howard College Campus