School of Engineering


School of Engineering staff enjoyed their Sports Day.

Talent Wins Games but Teamwork Makes Champions!

UKZN’s School of Engineering held its annual team-building sports day at the Old Mutual Sports Hall on the Howard College campus.

The event, attended by participants from the five Disciplines and the School office, was co-ordinated by Mr Alan Naidoo and Ms Wendy Janssen.

‘We felt we should incorporate a fun run followed by a few games where staff are required to work together to complete the tasks at hand and compete against other Disciplines,’ said Janssen.

Four teams participated, starting with a quick warm-up that included war cries followed by the 2km fun run/walk. After returning from the run, participants sat in their teams and prepared for the challenges with each one revealed only two minutes before they started.

The first challenge was an egg and spoon race which was followed by a three-legged race with a difference. The co-ordination required for this challenge was crucial to prevent team members from falling over each other as they built a train with other members involved as well. The teams completed a total of eight challenges, with the “build-it” challenge being the highlight as it involved three different tasks in one. The day ended with a tug-of-war.

Dean and Head of the School of Engineering Professor Glen Bright officially welcomed staff and congratulated them on their participation. School Manager Mr Ronal Thakurpersad and Public Relations Manager Dr Sally Frost handed out the prizes.

First prize was won by the School Office with Principal Administration Officer and team captain on the day Ms Thobeka Mbunjana, holding the trophy high. ‘It was fun. People were happy and united in their team efforts. I saw many people encouraging their fellow team members, which was good,’ said Mbunjana.

The day ended with refreshments and ice-cold beverages followed by lunch.

‘This year’s sports day was a great success,’ said Janssen. ‘Everyone was a good sport and each team was a winner.’

The winners of the individual categories were Mr Freedom Mazibuko (under 50 men), Mr Ndumiso Mazibuko (over 50 men), Ms Ooma Chetty (over 50 women), and Ms Susan Mercer (under 50 women). In the academics category, Mr Matthew Brown placed first, with Dr Leigh Jarvis and Professor Glen Bright coming in at a tie.

Words and photograph: Wendy Mngadi